Need Advice From You Lot!..

Author Topic: need advice from you lot!..  (Read 2495 times) 1 replies

Offline frostman

• Tropical Fish FTW!
need advice from you lot!..
« on: October 21, 2014, 11:40:11 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
hi people. im very new here  :)
I am wanting to set up a tank, i have been looking at shrimps as i am a beginner. I have thought about a 15l bio orb and maybe 5/6 cherry shrimps?
Would this be a good idea? I would like info on what kit is best to but ect so i look forward to your replies.
thanks !
ant.

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: need advice from you lot!..
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2014, 12:28:38 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi, welcome to the forum  :wave:

The baby biorb is fine for shrimps.

Shrimps are even more sensitive to poor water quality than fish are so if you want shrimps I would give very serious thought to doing a fishless cycle using ammonia. The method is here. But as shrimps have a much lower bioload than fish (ie they make less ammonia) you could use just 1ppm ammonia rather than the 3ppm mentioned in that link. But I would do a fishless cycle as any ammonia in the water - that is, ammonia made by the shrimps as a waste product - is toxic to them; as is the nitrite produced at a later stage of the cycle.

To do a fishless cycle, you'll need ammonia solution and a test kit. Ammonia solution is getting harder to find but some branches of Homebase have it in their household cleaning section. Failing that, Amazon or eBay have it.
Liquid reagent test kits are more accurate than strip testers. You need ammonia, nitrite and pH; a kit with those and nitrate is more economical than buying separately. On-line is cheaper than real shops. I have the API test kit but there are others on the market.