Betta Care

Author Topic: Betta Care  (Read 6017 times) 15 replies

Offline Stefan

• Fishy Member
Betta Care
« on: May 05, 2014, 12:01:50 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I've been considering buying myself a betta for my bedroom but I have very little knowledge about them. So here are a few questions I have to ask before making my purchase:

1. What's the recommended tank size for 1 betta?
2. Does the tank need to be cycled? (Seen a lot of people putting these fish in an uncycled tank)
3. How often does the tank need to be water changed? How much of a water change?
4. What food do you recommend these fish eat and how many times a day should I feed it?
5. What should I look out for when buying the fish?
6. What decor would you recommend? (Looking to keep this tank low maintenance)

If someone could answer these questions it would be appreciated. Thank you!  :)

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Betta Care
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 12:56:04 PM »
1.  5 American gallons, which is 20 litres. I usually keep mine in 25 litre tanks, which seems to be quite a
common size.

2. It does need to be cycled and heated. Bettas like it warm, so no less than 25oC. They can be kept in unfiltered tanks, but having a filter makes it much easier.

3. If the tank is filtered, 25 to 30% once a week, though by the time I've cleaned the whole tank, I find half the water has gone.
If the tank is not filtered, 50% every day and 100% once a week. This is why I said that filtered tanks are easier.

4. They need specific betta pellets as their staple diet - Hikari is the make easiest to find. Live food, (or frozen live food) once or twice a week - I've found my bettas have all liked bloodworm and brine shrimp. If you have just the one fish, frozen live food is easier as you'll waste a lot buying bags of actually alive, live food. With the frozen cubes, you just cut off as much as the betta can eat and defrost it.