PaddyC's Peaceful Community

Author Topic: PaddyC's Peaceful Community  (Read 72880 times) 637 replies

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: PaddyC's progress thread. **Fishless Cycle Day 7**
« Reply #140 on: March 11, 2016, 07:27:17 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I will say first of all that I am not good with plants.

But can someone who is please tell us if the one with red edges to the leaves in Paddy's photos really is an aquatic plant that I don't recognise or if it is a dracena......

Offline Paddyc

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #141 on: March 11, 2016, 07:32:23 PM »
I think it looks like Cordyline Australis...?

Offline Sue

« Reply #142 on: March 11, 2016, 07:37:02 PM »
That's what worries me. Both dracenas and cordylines are not aquatic plants though they are often sold as such. If a plant expert tells us it really is one of those, you need to remove it from the tank and put it in a plant pot.

Quite a few non-aquatic plants are sold in fish shops  :-\

Offline Paddyc

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #143 on: March 11, 2016, 07:41:37 PM »
Well I must say my first plant purchase is working out great so far!!

Offline Sue

« Reply #144 on: March 11, 2016, 07:45:00 PM »
Look at it this way, if it really is one of those, you have got a fairly cheap houseplant  ;D

Offline Matt

• @scapeeasy on Instagram
  • Global Moderator
  • www.scapeeasy.co.uk
« Reply #145 on: March 11, 2016, 07:59:28 PM »
Your planting looks good Paddyc, and not too deep - the swords will do excellently with your substrate.  Not sure about the species of plant with the red edges, if the 'stems' are quite thick, I suspect Sue may be right, it may not really grow, just 'survive' in the tank as such, but it won't do any harm to wait and see, alternatively you could take the opportunity to replace it whilst you are fish free - I'd stick with something red, I like this look.