Filter Stopped

Author Topic: Filter stopped  (Read 5320 times) 7 replies

Offline Andy M

• Super Fishy Member
Filter stopped
« on: September 16, 2013, 02:37:22 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi All.

While doing my water change today I turned of my filter (fluval U2) as usual but when I plugged it back in it was not running. After a bit of panic thinking i'd have to rush out and buy another U2 and put my existing media into that, I tried different sockets to no avail, then all of a sudden it started again in the usual socket I have it plugged into. All I can think is that the impeller is due for a good clean and that is why it struggled to start again once stopped.  It has been running about 5 months but I am very wary of doing this as i'm not good with taking things apart even with instructions

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Filter stopped
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 03:26:29 PM »
I used to have a Hagen Trio filter, and Hagen also makes Fluvals. The filter I had suffered from a problem - when it was turned off, it wouldn't start again by itself, even if the impeller and the well had been scrubbed sparkling clean. I did solve the problem, but it did leave me worried about power cuts. I had to remove the pump from the filter and start it manually every time I did a water change. It was a bit fiddly at first, but after the first couple of times it only took a few seconds.