Replace He Filter, Or Not?

Author Topic: Replace he filter, or not?  (Read 3688 times) 2 replies

Offline pandemonium

• Fishy Contributor
  • I have no idea what I'm doing!!
Replace he filter, or not?
« on: December 02, 2014, 11:24:58 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hiya!  :wave: I'm new to fish keeping (bar a small tank when I was younger!) And was looking for some advice on my filter. I currently have an aqua szut pat mini filter that came with my 54 litre tank. It's been difficult to look up information relating to that specific filter and I have finally found aquael also sell what  appears to be the exact same one, I think they call it ecoline though. I do know that it is adjustable, from 40-120 litres and only uses a sponge- no carbon or other filters.
The issue is that the filter is kinda driving me a bit potty! (I am willing to accept this may be hormones as I am due in February!) I can't seem to adjust the flow to a point where it breaks the surface enough for gas exchange but not so much that my fish can't swim in it! I have it 'aimed' at the back wall where the heater is but still have a current a bit strong for the fish as far as I can tell. On the lower settings it makes an aweful juddering noise and the flow is more like spurts. The setting I have it at now blows the plants a little on the other side but anything in the middle is caught in a storm. I don't think it's a great filter either. It has no casing so the fish keep nibbling at anything trying to grow in it and I use api aqua clear whenever I see particles in the water which is far more often then I would like and would rather not use it at all.
I am looking at the eheim pick up and would rather an over sized filter running at its lowest rather then a smaller at its highest but I admit I need to check dimensions!