Newbie's Fishless Cycling - Brown Water Query

Author Topic: Newbie's fishless cycling - brown water query  (Read 7394 times) 12 replies

Offline sunshine

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Newbie's fishless cycling - brown water query
« on: January 28, 2015, 05:22:52 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi

Newbie here so any help will be really appreciated   :) 

I have a fluval 23l tank with a few live plants including anubis & moss.  Also have a couple of small lava rocks and a small piece of mopani wood that I rinsed before adding to the tank.

This is my fishless cycling data so far:

Test 1 (10.01.15):
0.4ml ammonia added to start [0.2 x 2 for 20l tank as 0.2ml/10l]
   Waited 30min’s checked ammonia = not on scale (still clear water)
   Added 0.4ml ammonia
   Waited 30min’s checked ammonia = 8.0ppm = highest reading ☹
         Added fluval bacteria

Test 2 (11.01.15):
        Ammonia = 4ppm phew!

Test 3 (13.01.15):
   Ammonia = 4ppm
   pH high range = 7.4
   Nitrite = 5ppm
   Partial water change, checked ammonia = 2ppm

Test 4  (15.01.15):
   Ammonia = 0.5ppm
   pH high range = 7.4
   pH (normal) = 7.6
   Nitrite = 5ppm
   Added 0.4ml = 3ppm (checked after 90 min’s)
   Added fluval bacteria

Test 5  (16.01.15)
   Ammonia = 0.25ppm
   Nitrite = 5.0ppm
   Left it as is – test again 20.01.2015
   Added fluval bacteria

Test 6  (20.01.15)
   Ammonia = 0ppm
   Nitrite = 5.0ppm
   pH = 7.6
   Added 0.4ml ammonia

Test 7  (22.01.15)
   Ammonia = 0.25ppm
        Nitrite = 0ppm
        pH = 7.4
        Added 0.4ml ammonia

Test 8  (25.01.15)
   Ammonia = 0.25ppm
   Nitrite = 0ppm
   pH = 7.4
   Nitrate = 20ppm
        Added 0.4ml ammonia

Test 9  (27.01.15)
        Ammonia = 0ppm
        Nitrite = 2.5ppm
        Partial water change as water is brown to see if water clears.
        Added 0.4ml ammonia

About a week ago, brown algae was visible but that disappeared and now the water is just brown.

Thanks in anticipation!

Offline fishcake76