New Tank Fishless Cycling Problems - Ammonia Static And Nitrite Not Appearing

Author Topic: New Tank Fishless Cycling Problems - Ammonia static and Nitrite not Appearing  (Read 8700 times) 21 replies

Offline jade

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello,
I am new to fishkeeping and to the use of forums as well, so I’m sorry if I get anything wrong :) .

I recently set up a new tank (Fluval roma 240L), below I’ve listed some general information about it.
•   Dimensions (LxDxH) – 120x40x55cm
•   Holding 205L due to substrate and décor (listed as 240L)
•   Décor: Artificial plants and polyresin rocks and ornaments and inert black fine gravel (almost sand)
•   Heater set to 25 Celcius (confirmed using digital and in-tank thermometers)
•   Air pump running in the tank
•   Uses Fluval 306 Canister filter (Sponge media on the bottom, Bio rings in the middle and filter pads and carbon bags in the top as directed from the instruction leaflet – these were included with the set-up).
•   Filled with dechlorinated water on the 24th October

I have been attempting a fishless cycle using Dr Tim’s Ammonium Chloride and Tetra Safe Start (TSS) as my source of bacteria. I began this on the 26th October by adding TSS and dosing ammonia to 2ppm as directed. I have been measuring pH, Ammonia and Nitrite every day and nitrate every week using the API Master Test Kit since the 27th and my results have been:

•   Ammonia – dropped to 1ppm on 28th and stayed static for the last 2 weeks.
•   No nitrites have appeared at all
•   Nitrates stay at a constant 2.5, which is already present in the tap water according to the local water suppliers report.
•   pH – Started at 7.2 (which my tap water read at after being left out for 24H), rose to 7.8 from the 30th October to the 5th November and has since dropped to 6.8 – 7.0 from the 6th November and has stayed static since.