Fish Less Cycle , Is Tetra Safe Start Ok?

Author Topic: Fish less cycle , is tetra safe start ok?  (Read 8655 times) 8 replies

Offline Cazzybaby

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Fish less cycle , is tetra safe start ok?
« on: April 22, 2014, 09:10:41 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I was looking up in the net options on how to do a fish less cycle. One if the options was to use safe start, I have ordered it as I am new to this and it sounded the easier way for me to do it. Does it work ok? I have a testing kit. 

Offline Robert

• Administrator
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Fish less cycle , is tetra safe start ok?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 10:16:54 AM »
Yes, it's fine - it's a well established product and other members have used it as it often speeds up the process.

http://www.thinkfish.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,419.msg4797/topicseen.html#msg4797

Is a thread where it's been discussed by other forum users  :cheers:

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Clown Barb (5) - Banded Rainbowfish (2) - Bolivian Ram (4) - Angelfish (1) - Checkered Barb (18) - African Red Eye (4) - Cherry Barb (6) - Neon Tetra (8) - Golden Panchax (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 10:18:43 AM »
The first thing to ask is, what kind of test kit - strips that you dip in or one with bottles and test tubes? The strips are not very reliable and don't test for ammonia which you need to.

Tetra safe start is the only one easily available in the UK that has the right kind of both species of bacteria. But if it has ever been kept at the wrong temperature (too hot or too cold) since it was made, it won't work. Since there will be lorries and warehouses involved in its journey to your tank, anything could have happened en route.