Fish Dying Off In My Tank Over The Last 3 Months

Author Topic: Fish dying off in my tank over the last 3 months  (Read 12249 times) 39 replies

Offline rosaleen

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Fish dying off in my tank over the last 3 months
« on: June 04, 2016, 05:09:50 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
HI
Not sure if this is the right section to post my query, so apologies if it is.

In the last 3 months my fish have been slowly dying off,   by about 30% .

I've removed some of the dead which I found at the bottom of the tank. None showed any signs of disease, none were seen gasping  for air or had buoyancy problems.

I checked at my local MA, yesterday, who suggested possible bacterial problems, thinking I might have be over keen  with cleaning the media even though I've been doing it the same way for about 5 years. Is there are likely/possible alternative cause?

Anyway this morning I cleaned  the filter media(it was due). Instead  of replacing the oldest layer of filter floss, which I would normally do, because there was VERY little debris (it's an oversized filter for my tank capacity). due to the lower amount of waste material I cleaned it instead and put it back in.

Did I do the right thing?

I also bought some Aqua balls, wanting to avoid a chemical route,  and put them in the tank  the second best location ( unfortunately I read the instructions about the best location for them being IN the filter AFTER sorting out the filter -and setting it up  again). Can add an extra couple of balls to 'make up' for the balls not being in the effective place? Or not?

Many many thanks

Rosie

PS Before I really started looking at how there was some clear reduction in my number I bought  5 Albino Corys , mid March lost 2, and then stupidly with hindsight,  bought another 5 more recently. So 10 in total. I now have 2 of them left.

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Fish dying off,