Fast Cycling?

Author Topic: Fast cycling?  (Read 3409 times) 3 replies

Offline pesce

Fast cycling?
« on: November 10, 2013, 10:25:21 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi everyone.
I am new to fish keeping and set up my first tropical 60l tank over 3 weeks ago and it seems to have cycled in 2 weeks? I know that although that can happen it's not the norm so I am slightly unsure. Is there anything I should be doing as a precaution?

16th oct: Set up my tank and added a bag of water that the local aquarium kindly gave me.
19th oct: My first little guppy's went in.
21st oct: Test kit arrived. First test showed
Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite     5.0ppm
Nitrate    40ppm

The next day the ammonia spiked.
2 days later the ammonia had calmed and the nitrates spiked.
Over the next week the results stayed relatively high whilst slightly reducing.

4th nov: Tested the water
Ammonia 0
Nitrite     0
Nitrate   10ppm

Ive tested the water daily since then, a week later and the results have stayed the same.

What do you all think? Am I safe?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I can't wait to put some more fish in but only if the waters safe. 

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Cardinal Tetra (8) - Guppy (male) (1) - Dwarf Gourami (2) - Platy (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Fast cycling?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 12:20:12 PM »
With some nitrite testers the reading can show zero if the actual level is off the top of the scale. Can I suggest you dilute a sample of tank water about 1 in 10 and retest. If it's still zero then you are OK, but if it shows a reading other than zero, the tank water has a nitrite level so high the tester can't cope.