Strange Creaking Sounds..........how Scared Should I Be?

Author Topic: Strange creaking sounds..........how scared should i be?  (Read 8199 times) 5 replies

Offline Pixiecatjo

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
Strange creaking sounds..........how scared should i be?
« on: February 11, 2013, 05:29:08 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi guys, i am hoping someone can give me a little advice, i have a Juwel Rio 180 that i have been running as a tropical aquarium for around the past 3 years it has always made the odd creaking sound, mainly if the ambient room temp changes but it seems to be happening more often, it is built with a metal brace around the top and bottom of the tank. I should say my sister gave it to me after she had been running it as a tropical tank for a couple of years, i am trying to avoid coming home from work to a very wet carpet and dead fish :-[ should a start shopping for a new tank?!?

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Clown Loach (1) - Neon Tetra (5) - Black Molly (1) - Zebra Loach (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline SteveS

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • With apologies to M.C.Escher
Re: Strange creaking sounds..........how scared should i be?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 06:54:53 PM »
I would have thought it have gone by now if it was going to.  The creaking may just be due to expansion and contraction due to temperature changes or to slight shifts in the floor if you have a suspended floor.  You seem to suspect that it is due to temperature changes; how long has it been happening more often?  If it's just the last few days, it may be due to the cold spell we are having.

Angelfish (1) - Panda Cory (10) - Harlequin Rasbora (10) - Otocinclus (10) - Japonica Shrimp (10) - Honey Gourami (10) - Galaxy Rasbora (10) -