Real Plants? Or Ornaments

Author Topic: real plants? or ornaments  (Read 2751 times) 5 replies

Offline Lellynelly

• Fishy Member
real plants? or ornaments
« on: September 09, 2017, 08:23:18 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I have been fishkeeping for around 7 years now and currently have 4 aquaria containing a variety of small fish. Over the years of general maintenance the thing I have spent the most money on is plants. They just don't last. they turn brown and look messy, they uproot and float on the surface, or they get eaten. this leaves the tanks looking quite bare at times. Having recently looked at a friends tank that contained lots of rocks/ornaments and hardly any plants I am now wondering whether its worth decorating the tanks with hardware instead, as in ornaments, fake logs, castles, rocks (Can I use rocks from the garden? and do away with plants altogether.
What do people think? how much benefit do plants give to the water quality?

Offline Matt

• @scapeeasy on Instagram
  • Global Moderator
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • www.scapeeasy.co.uk
Re: real plants? or ornaments
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 08:53:26 AM »
Plants do have benefits to water quality -especially nitrate levels.  What do your test results indicate for nitrate in your tap and tank water? Is your tank over or under filtered? You will likely have to slightly increase the frequency of water changes in an unplanted tank, though this would be more the case if the plants were growing well.  Personally I'd be more than happy to help you get to the bottom of why your plants are not growing.  For example, are you dosing any plant nutrients? What substrate and lights do you have? By working though this we should be able to get you that planted tank look you are after.

You are welcome to use just aquarium safe decor and no plants should you wish but please be aware that you must check they are aquarium safe (look for videos on the vinegar test).

Offline Littlefish