External Filter And Water Changes

Author Topic: External filter and water changes  (Read 5980 times) 8 replies

Offline Aquamaid

• Rocking Fishy Member
External filter and water changes
« on: December 11, 2014, 04:12:50 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Remember i'm a newbie and please don't laugh at question  :-[ lol This is my first experience of external filter, when i started it up, it said "prime the canister" and i had to suck on the pipe to get the flow started (pump button stuck) i'm now wondering, when i turn everything off for water changes, will have to go through the same procedure every time  :-\

Offline chris213

• Rocking Fishy Member
  • were going to need a bigger tank
Re: External filter and water changes
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 05:39:47 PM »
what brand of external filter do you have - your filter will need to be primed when you do maintance to it some are  pain to prime useing the self priming system others work great , depending how you have your system set up there is pipe set ups that allow you to open a valve and pour water down the pipes to prime them that way https://www.eheim.com/en_GB/products/accessories/installation_installationsSets_4004310

Offline Aquamaid

• Rocking Fishy Member
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 06:41:14 PM »
Hi Chris, it's a Aqua One Aquis 1250, it does give the two options of "pumping primer button" or "sucking pipe" for set up, the pump button was too stiff to pump, (it's second hand set up) so i did the suck pipe method, which was no problem as it was just water at that stage lol. All running fine, just wondered if i have to do that every time i change water, or if the water level is not to low do i need to turn it off at all?

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 06:44:45 PM »