Aeration

Author Topic: Aeration  (Read 3588 times) 6 replies

Offline Mirage

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Aeration
« on: September 10, 2014, 08:53:59 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi, I'm in the process of setting up my tank and as a total newbie would like opinions as to whether the filter on my tank is aerating my tank sufficiently or do I need an air stone and external pump.

I have done a quick YouTube vid

#Invalid YouTube Link include https#

Thoughts please...

Thankyou

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Dwarf Rainbowfish (4) - Platy (6) - Bristlenose Plec (1) - Ram / Butterfly Cichlid (2) - Pearl Gourami (4) - Fiveband Barb (6) - Platy (6) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (3) - Bristlenose Plec (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline chris213

• Rocking Fishy Member
  • were going to need a bigger tank
Re: Aeration
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 09:58:34 PM »
its a bit hard to tell - i normal gauge mine from a surface view ,it seems to be creating some ripples on the surface of the water so it probably isnt far off  you want it so that it is drawing water up and over the surface so it gives chance to get fresh oxygen in it .iam sure someone can explain it a bit better than me

Offline Mirage

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2014, 08:08:00 AM »
I'll post a video tonight after work to show the surface view, I can adjust the output angle on the filter to cause more/less disturbance if needed

Thanks

Phil

Dwarf Rainbowfish (4) - Platy (6) - Bristlenose Plec (1) - Ram / Butterfly Cichlid (2) - Pearl Gourami (4) - Fiveband Barb (6) - Platy (6) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (3) - Bristlenose Plec (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member