How Many Bubbles Per Second Should I Be Aiming To Have Entering My Co2 Diffuser?

Author Topic: How many bubbles per second should I be aiming to have entering my co2 diffuser?  (Read 4976 times) 9 replies

Offline TheCannyScot

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
After being out of the hobby for 15+ years, I am soon to be setting up a small 130ltr Aquastyle tank. I am aiming to scape a live planted tank and I still have my co2 bottles, gauge, etc. but no diffuser, but have totally forgotten the important numbers, I wonder if someone could advise me on amounts of co2 I should be using. I intend to buy a JBL inline diffuser, a system I have never used before now and would appreciate any hints/tips on its set-up, specifically the bubble count.
Also, I have read good things about the "1-2-grow" range and would like to hear your opinions on them or would you suggest any other supplier of live plants?

Offline Littlefish

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • aka Donna
  • Likes On This Users Post 1
I think this may be one for our @Matt   :)

As for the 1-2-grow range, the tissue culture plants are perfect if you need snail, algae, and pesticide free plants. I don't have delicate/sensitive shrimp or fish, but have used plants from the 1-2-grow range as sometimes they have plants that you can't easily get elsewhere. They are more expensive than standard potted plants, and are often smaller too. I'd also say that if you are buying from an on-line supplier that you've not used before, then the 1-2-grow plants are also pre-packaged, and you can be very confident that they will reach you in good condition.

For plants I mainly used https://www.aquariumgardens.co.uk/ although there are quite a few other retailers. I have ordered from them on-line, had plants delivered, and everything was great. Then I found out that I was less than an hour away from their shop, and have driven over there for plants ever since.  :)