Can I Have Live Plants In My Tank?

Author Topic: Can I have live plants in my tank?  (Read 8402 times) 17 replies

Offline Natasha

• Fishy Member
Can I have live plants in my tank?
« on: August 06, 2013, 04:37:57 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hey,

I just wanted some advice on whether it would be possible or wise to have live plants in my tank?

I'm new to this (I'm currently cycling my first tank) so may ask some questions that sound daft, please forgive me :)

I live in Bristol and so have hard, fairly alkaline water (I don't know if this makes a difference).

I have a Juwel rio 180 tank with T5 lighting and the standard Juwel internal filter that came with it.

The bit that I think will make you all scream at me is the fact that I have fine sand substrate, about 0.5mm diameter.

Any advice is welcome please  :D

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Lake Tebera Rainbowfish (4) - Celebes Rainbow (4) - Panda Cory (4) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (4) - Glass Bloodfin (6) - Lemon Tetra (6) - Platy (6) - Zebra Danio (6) - Glowlight Danio (6) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline SteveS

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • With apologies to M.C.Escher
Re: Can I have live plants in my tank?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2013, 04:50:02 PM »
Yes you can. Have a look at this. If you stick to the plants marked as "easy", and add some root tabs to the sand, you shouldn't have any problems finding a group of plants with which to start.

Angelfish (1) - Panda Cory (10) - Harlequin Rasbora (10) - Otocinclus (10) - Japonica Shrimp (10) - Honey Gourami (10) - Galaxy Rasbora (10) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline ColinB

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2013, 05:03:57 PM »