Poorly Dwarf Gourami

Author Topic: Poorly dwarf gourami  (Read 5860 times) 5 replies

Offline jmr1969

Poorly dwarf gourami
« on: January 21, 2013, 03:31:26 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi , I'm new to fish keeping, I've had my tank set up for 4 months now. I do weekly water changes and water tests. Currently my water tests have risen  a little ( ammonia 0.25 ), ( nitrites 0.25 ) & the biggest climber has been my nitrates, which has climbed from 40 ppm to 80 in a week. My tank is currently stocked with 6 harlequins , 6 neons which are all perfectly healthy. But 10 days ago I introduced a pair of dwarf gourami's. both of which settled in very happily. But I've noticed this morning that 1 of them, is hardly moving and is facing down, he only seems to move when other fish pass by. He also seems a little bloated. I'm not sure if its a swim bladder problem or maybe something else. Any thoughts please.

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Harlequin Rasbora (3) - Neon Tetra (2) - Red Phantom Tetra (3) - Scissor-Tail (4) - Blue Tetra (4) - Otocinclus (1) - Bristlenose Plec (2) - Ticto Barb (3) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Poorly dwarf gourami
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2013, 04:31:35 PM »
There are a few possibilties:

Did you get a male and female or two males? If it's two males, one is likely to be bullying the other, and stressed fish get sick easier.