Pearl Danio Acting Very Strange

Author Topic: pearl danio acting very strange  (Read 7330 times) 5 replies

Offline suep

• Fishy Member
pearl danio acting very strange
« on: May 13, 2013, 11:14:36 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I am new to fish keeping and have only had my 125 litre tank about 2 months. I am keeping a few different species of danios and all has been well until today when I spotted one of the pearl danios spinning round and around then it stopped at the bottom of the tank very still for about 5 minutes. I though it was on its way out but then it started swimming normally again. About an hour later it started darting around the tank then stopped at the bottom again. I thought it might need isolating so put in on its own in a separate small (48litre) tank for a few hours. But it seemed so stressed darting around that I have put it back in the big tank again overnight. (the small tank was filtered and the correct temperature). I have tested the water for ammonia and nitrates and all seems fine. The other fish seem okay and since I put it back it has been swimming normally again. Can anyone suggest what I should do if it carries on acting this way? It doesn't look any different. Thanks  :-[
Just to note - I did my usual 30% water change on Saturday. I currently have 25 small fish and according to aqadvisor I'm about 75% stocked.

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: pearl danio acting very strange
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 08:27:21 AM »
The first thing to warn you is about aqadvisor. It is unreliable. Another forum I'm a member of has actually banned mention of it because of this (if the name is typed in a post it is removed by the swear filter!). Have you tried using the community creator on here instead?