Author Topic: Pandas and sodium bicarbonate  (Read 3855 times) 6 replies

Offline Skittler

• Rocking Fishy Member
  • Shrimpaholic
Pandas and sodium bicarbonate
« on: February 15, 2015, 12:14:21 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello All,
I am a relative newbie. I mentioned on here earlier that I added 2tsp of baking soda to relieve low KH problems and an impending pH crash. It worked. I also added some finely crushed coral in a bag to the filter. As I approached "double zero", I did 1x50% & 2x66% w/c's to get rid of the baking soda and nitrates. After cycling, I added 5 otos, 5 panda corys, 10 neons and 6 ember tetras in quick succession. The tank (125L) is not overstocked. Each group of fish came from a different LFS. The pandas have never shoaled, and I have recently lost two, with no obvious signs of disease or injury. The other fish are thriving, particularly the otos.
Since cycling, I have a done 17% w/c every 3 days to keep nitrates to 20-40ppm. NH3 & NO2 are zero. I have now discovered from a senior member of staff, that the (panda) supplying LFS uses baking soda to buffer its soft water. Could this be the cause?
                                             Skittler

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Pandas and sodium bicarbonate
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 12:25:56 PM »
Baking soda should never be used with fish in the tank as the sodium is bad for them. It may be that the pandas had acclimatised to the high level of sodium in the shop tank and the lack of it in your tank has affected them. But you shouldn't add baking soda to your tank just because the pandas are used to it, the other fish wouldn't thank you.
Is there any possibility of buying pandas from a different shop?