Dead Honey Gourami With A Dark Lump

Author Topic: Dead honey gourami with a dark lump  (Read 11293 times) 25 replies

Offline Fishbeard

• Super Subscriber!
  • Super Fishy Member
  • Bearded Fish Forum User
Dead honey gourami with a dark lump
« on: December 16, 2017, 10:39:42 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
So I came to clean the tank this morning and found that one of my red honey gouramis had passed. He was stuck to the filter intake, but when I turned the filter off he floated loose, so I'm reluctant to believe that the filter caused it, but I've checked my water this morning and all of my readings are good - 0 ammonia, 0 nitrate, 20 nitrate - but he's had a black lump that I want to call an abscess, but I'm no doctor.

He seemed fine yesterday - was swimming around as normal, and despite earlier concerns that my two gouramis might fight, they both settled down after a couple of days and I've not seen any fighting or chasing. He's been eating well, swimming fine and I've never noticed the dark lump on him before. I always make a point to check everyone's present and correct in the morning and evening. Everyone else in the tank appears to be doing well and the other gourami seems fine, I've made a point of checking him this morning during water change and I can't see any similar marks.

Has anyone got any ideas what this might be?

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Dead honey gourami with a dark lump
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2017, 10:51:38 AM »
I'm sorry to hear that.

The filter won't have killed the fish, it will have sucked him against it after hew was dead, or possibly too weak to swim any more.

The black lump could have developed after he died - if he passed away just after you last looked in the tank he would have been dead several hours when you found him. If it is a tumour, it won't be infectious.