See less of these, become a Super Subscriber today!

Tried Using The Community Thing.

Author Topic: tried using the community thing.  (Read 532 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aquarius Barbara

  • Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 49
  • Likes: 2
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
tried using the community thing.
« on: September 04, 2017, 12:00:38 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Really can't get this to work very well the pictures just flash up then are gone, I used a calculator to work out my tank capacity for fish it said it was 64 lt tank but it only a 55lt one  ???

Online Matt

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Think Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Likes: 28
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2017, 07:18:21 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
What device and what browser are you using to try and access the community creator? Could you send some screenshots so we can try and diagnose the problem for you?

What calculator did you use to work out the tank volume? I would probably go with less than the manufacturers stated volume of anything, not more. Generally we take 10% off the volume to account for the substrate, rocks, wood, plants, filter, heater which all go in the tank.

Offline Sue

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Think Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7213
  • Likes: 115
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2017, 08:37:44 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Don't forget that with tank volume you have to have an air space on top of the water. But it is more common for tank manufacturers to give the amount of space the tank takes up rather than the amount of water it can hold - they include that air gap and the thickness of the glass in their volume. And some 55 litre tanks (I'm thinking on a certain Aqua One tank) has a section at the back for the filter which isn't included in the tank volume.


In addition to Matt's question about your browser etc, how are you accessing the community creator, via the fish profiles or a link?

Offline Aquarius Barbara

  • Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 49
  • Likes: 2
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2017, 12:10:36 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I am using a P.C. With Chrome. I accessed the community page via link on home page, logged in to save it not sure if it did. My tank is a 40cm 55L cube Aqua nano tank. I used the calculator for square rectangular tanks put the measurements in and it said my capacity was 64L, but the manufactures say it's 55 L.

Online Matt

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Think Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Likes: 28
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2017, 03:36:49 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I think this tank has an integrated filter in the back which the manufacturer has not included the volume for in their the tank volume calculations. Is this correct does it have a filter compartment at the back?

Offline Aquarius Barbara

  • Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 49
  • Likes: 2
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2017, 04:52:39 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
No I have been out and had a look at tanks I can definitely say I have a Aqua aspire 55L tank, there is no filter system with it as I bought it second hand, so the hand book they gave me is the wrong one so I am now going to look for the correct book and what I can find out about this tank. We have had no luck so far finding a unit for it to stand on most I have seen have been wide enough but not deep enough. Think we are going to have a look to IKEA on Wednesday as have an idea of how to get the look I want. B.

Offline Sue

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Think Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7213
  • Likes: 115
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2017, 05:12:19 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hmmm, that tank doesn't appear to be on Aqua One's website. However google does give some images and it looks like just a glass box with nothing dividing off one side. The images also show an internal filter that seems to be corner shaped - is this the tank you have?

Offline Aquarius Barbara

  • Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 49
  • Likes: 2
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2017, 06:13:25 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Ok I have been out looking at tanks etc and this is the tank that I have, I bought it second hand and all I have is the tank and the light, no other extras.

 
http://www.petsathome.com/shop/en/pets/aqua-one-aqua-aspire-55-glass-aquarium-55-litre

Online Matt

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Think Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Likes: 28
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2017, 06:45:58 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
How strange that the manufacturer would understate the tank size... that said 39 x 39 x 37 xm gives 56 litres and this possibly wouldnt be a bad guesstimate of the tanks actual water holding capacity.  Only way to test for sure is to measure water in until you reach you desired water level.

Now to see if we can get you going on the community creator... @Robert might be able to help??

Offline Sue

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Think Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7213
  • Likes: 115
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2017, 07:14:55 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Barbara, how exactly have you been accessing the Community Creator?

The simplest way to do it is to click on Fish Profiles in the top menu, then hover over a category go down to the fish you want and click on it. Then scroll down to the bottom of the profile, fill in the tank data and click on save/update. Then at the bottom of the fish blurb, click on add this fish to my tank.Then use the up/down buttons to change the number of fish.
You can save your virtual tank but you need to register then log in separately from the forum.

Offline Aquarius Barbara

  • Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 49
  • Likes: 2
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2017, 01:05:59 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
That is what I was doing but it was not showing the pictures correctly, I will have another go tonight, off out shopping, might just visit some fish shops (not the type you eat) LOL Bx
 

Offline Robert

  • Administrator
  • Rocking Fishy Member
  • *
  • Posts: 445
  • Likes: 22
    • ThinkFish
Re: tried using the community thing.
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2017, 07:52:39 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
That is what I was doing but it was not showing the pictures correctly, I will have another go tonight, off out shopping, might just visit some fish shops (not the type you eat) LOL Bx


Hi, sorry to hear you were having issues.


Could you send me a screen shot if it happens again?


robert < at > thinkfish.co.uk


Many thanks


Rob

See less of these, become a Super Subscriber today!

See less of these, become a Super Subscriber today (see below)

** Become a ThinkFish Super Subscriber **

It takes time and money to keep ThinkFish going, if you'd like to help, then a one off Donation or a Subscription of your choice would be fantastic. Starting from less than 2p per day; your subscription will help fund new articles, pay for server costs and help fund development and promotion initiatives, helping us bring you more of the good stuff you love! You'll also see less ads. Why not become a Super Subscriber today!?
Tags:
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 

Think Fish © 2004-2018 | Keeping Tropical Fish Forum - Everything you need for your Tropical Fish hobby

Tropical Fish Help and Advice
Tropical Fish Keeping Community
General Non-Fishkeeping Chat
Legal | Contact
SEO Services in Kent
Follow Think Fish on: