Author Topic: Online fish suppliers  (Read 6338 times) 13 replies

Offline Diz1

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Online fish suppliers
« on: June 05, 2014, 08:41:47 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi,

I'm new to fish keeping and I am currently cycling my aquanano 40 before adding any fish.
On the advice of one of the forum members, I would like to keep some endlers. I live an area where the choices for fish stockists are very limited. One option is a well known pet retailer whose staff tried to convince me that the fish weren't ill, but merely stressed (this despite the fact that some were clearly dead!) the other stockist is reputable and their fish look (to my inexperienced eye) healthy and lively. However, this stockist doesn't supply endlers.
So, I was wondering if anyone has experience of buying fish online. Is this a good idea or not? Also, how many endlers could I keep in my aquanano 40?

Thanks in advance for any advice!  :)

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
Re: Online fish suppliers
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2014, 11:03:01 AM »
It is possible to buy fish on line, the problem is often the cost of the postage which can be more than the fish themselves. Would the better shop order fish in for you?

I've just looked through your previous posts and see that you said you don't have any trouble with your kettle etc furring up. That means you have soft water so endlers aren't the best choice as they prefer hard water. There is a much bigger choice of fish for soft water.

For 55 litres, but a tank length of 40cm:
Ember tetras which get much more colourful when they've settled in
Fish in the genus Boraras
Celestial pearl danios also called galaxy rasboras
Larger, non-shoaling fish:
Honey gourami would be OK, but I wouldn't get any larger gouramis than this species. A pair would work.