Review - Seachem Prime .v. Microbe-Lift Extreme Water Conditioner

Author Topic: Review - Seachem Prime .v. Microbe-Lift Extreme Water Conditioner  (Read 10342 times) 5 replies

Offline fcmf

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • [PicCredit: @NiloSinnatamby]
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I've been using Seachem Prime as my water conditioner for many years - probably since the start of the decade. I decided to try Microbe-Lift Extreme which the LFS said was "the same". It's quite difficult to find out exactly what Microbe's products contain, not helped by the fact many are translated badly from another language. Nevertheless, I've been using it in recent months. It seems to be doing its job and hasn't had an adverse impact on fish or plants that I'm aware of. However, it does have a soapy feel and creates a lot of bubbles when adding water to it, each of which are a little disconcerting. It also creates an oil-like slick across the surface of the water, particularly noticeable when food is added, which the Seachem Prime didn't. I reckon I'll either return to Seachem Prime next time round or perhaps try out another product, given that more now seem to address chloramine which is added to my water supply - I may need to do a few calculations on cost-effectiveness as some products require dosing at x times the standard dosage if chloramine is present.

Offline Sue

Re: Review - Seachem Prime .v. Microbe-Lift Extreme Water Conditioner
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2018, 12:22:41 PM »
If at all possible, try to find a dechlorinator that removes chlorine, detoxifies ammonia, binds metals and nothing else. The trouble with Prime is all the stuff that's in it that Seachem won't tell us about.
Try to avoid products with aloe vera in as it is now known to be dertrimental to fish on long exposure (it coats their gills)

I know this article is now a bit on the old side, and a lot of products are American, but it is worth a look